, ,

Unicorn Friends

[ br(eakfast) + (l)unch ]www.brunch.com (6) (1)

Anna fell asleep in her library, amidst the evidences and her notes. Her subconscious mind seemed to be working, even though she dozed off.

Suddenly, she woke up with a start. She was sweating profusely. She was really exhausted, as she dropped off on the study table without having dinner. She went to the kitchen to have water. Remembering her task at hand, she decided to make herself a coffee for an immediate charge.

With her mug she walked to the balcony, as she needed fresh air.

She stepped on something hard. She picked it up, it was a stone wrapped with a piece of paper. Something was scribbled on it with red colour. She kept her mug aside to read the note. It was a warning for her- “Ms Roy, stay away from Palace case or else…”. Neither the red colour nor the letter achieved its desired effect on Anna. She kept the note in her cupboard, without giving it a second thought. And sipped on her black coffee.

Next morning, Anna went to Amy Scott’s house. She rang the bell, Amy opened the door and invited her in. As Anna walked in, her sharp eyes examined the house. It looked like an ancient place. Amy offered tea to Anna, which she politely refused.

“I hear that you and Susanne were best friends?” Anna started.

“We were. We did everything together. We used to go to movies, shopping, and travelling. We were unicorn friends. I miss my friend. I feel she can come back anytime. She is still here, I can feel her. Can you feel her? Do you have any idea how it feels like? It’s like I can’t breathe properly. Can you breathe? Of course, you can. You haven’t lost a friend.”, Amy blabbered on.

Anna coaxed, “Did you two fight ever?”

Amy started again, this time her words had a ring of disappointment, “Yes, all friends do. She changed after her Grammy nomination as lyricist for a song, which actually I wrote.”

“You say you wrote that song?” Anna interjected.

“Yes, I wrote and shared it only with her. I have proof that I wrote the song. After finishing a song, I copy it on a piece of paper, seal it, and then mail it to myself. When I receive the mail, I don’t open it but just keep it as a record. You can have a look if you want and crosscheck the dates. Yet, she never gave me any credit”, Amy sounded convincing.

“Why didn’t she give you any credit?”, Anna inquired.

“I don’t know. Last year, when she was frequently traveling to Europe with David, I went to New York on long vacation to meet my sister. Actually, Susanne sponsored me partly for this trip or perhaps sent me there on purpose. When I returned after more than a month, my song was already a hit. I questioned her. She had no answer. She just acknowledged me as an inspiration. She never included me, she knew I was broke. I didn’t have money for anything”, Amy replied.

“What was going on between David and Susanne?”, Anna asked.

“The world knows. The young man charmed the old lady, probably for her money. They were going together all the time, and Tom didn’t like this at all.” Amy responded.

“What happened at the party?”, Anna quizzed.

“She threw a success party. I borrowed a dress from her. I didn’t even have a goddamn dress. I loved her, I did. She called me to help her with the party. I was right there when it happened. The light went off, moments before the new year ushered in. We all were counting, laughing, and making all types of noises. The light was off for quite some time. And then we all heard a shriek. When the light came back on, she was dead. Her blood all over the floor. Everybody started screaming, I stood frozen. Someone called police. On Police’s advice, immediately all the doors were closed so that nobody could escape”, Amy elaborated.

“Do you doubt any one?”, Anna asked.

Amy replied, “No, I don’t have doubts on any one particularly. Though I doubt each one of them. I trust no one.”

Anna thought Unicorn friends? Was this lady really crazy? She seemed quite smart. Probably she acts crazy so that people don’t take her too seriously. Anna felt sympathetic towards Amy, yet she couldn’t give Amy a clean chit, not yet.

to be continued…

*This is the chapter # 4 of the series Murder in a Palace


(c) 2018 PRIYA BAJPAI ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Read my previous posts for #BlogchatterA2Z

An Archaic world, Blueprint, Crush, Dazzled, Eyes, Falling Teardrop…, Geisha,

Horrific Holocaust, I’m II, Jigsaw Puzzle, Killer , Love, Mia of Maya, Neil’s Shoe , Oseye- Archaic world II, Parallel Universe, The Quiet Room, Rain starts to Pour…, Shh.. Sleuth is Hunting, Twists and Turns

28 responses to “Unicorn Friends”

  1. I usually don’t trust people who make a great show or try to go out of their way to prove their friendship or in this case innocence. I would keep an eye on Amy Scott! BTW, I loved the title – Unicorn friends!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Unicorn friends – its as fake as the unicorn. While Susaane has betrayed her , Anna is no saint either, She is definitely a suspect. You are doing a fab job Priya in keeping the readers glued.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amy definitely has a motive. Interesting to learn about each character’s motive. Did Susanne really steal her song or is she a delusional conspiracy nut? And who sent that note in a rock?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. No I don’t think it’s Amy ….
    Interesting title ‘Unicorn friends’….loved the suspense thriller. ..very well done Priya
    …am really waiting for the next part

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Tara for the lovely comment. That’s a huge compliment.
      Unicorn can mean several things, I had planned to use it to denote a few. Fairy tale, craziness, good bond, an inside joke

      Like

  5. […] Horrific Holocaust, I’m II, Jigsaw Puzzle, Killer , Love, Mia of Maya, Neil’s Shoe , Oseye- Archaic world II, Parallel Universe, The Quiet Room, Rain starts to Pour…, Shh.. Sleuth is Hunting, Twists and Turns, Unicorn Friends […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.